Disable notifications for specific apps with a shortcut

Hi there,
I work for a software company and we have an own app, so I sometimes need to present to customers using my iPhone. In that situation I need push notifications from our own app, but I would like to avoid notifications from WhatsApp, Facebook, email and so on.
So my goal is to disable notifications for these specific apps, ideally with a shortcut. So that I’ll be able to enable them again after my presentation.
Unfortunately the apple shortcuts app doesn’t support to set notifications for other apps.

Do you guys have experience with that? I already looked at ‘Scriptable’ and ‘Pythonista’, but for me it appears that these apps don’t have permissions for settings like this. (Though, I’m not a developer).

Thanks for you help,
Viktor

Shortcuts doesn’t have the ability to toggle such settings. You may be able to create a shortcut that takes you directly to the Notifications section in Settings, but you’d still have to manually toggle on/off.

Hi,
Thanks for your answer. OK, I assumed that.
Are apps in general not allowed to toggle such settings? Or could there be one (theoretically) that could do it? Or a script app?

Apps are sandboxed and allowing an app to override another app’s settings, or even its own notifications enable me to settings, like this would be a security and a usability issue. Imagine a competitor’s app being able to turn your notifications off and it’s notifications on even though a user set it up the other way around.

Right, got it.
So I guess my only solution is to wait for Apple to support these settings with the shortcut app.

Thanks!

I’ve a feeling Federico might’ve found the URL scheme to do this. He found dozens related to Settings, IIRC.

Federico’s page with Settings URL schemes is indispensible. The URL scheme to jump directly to Notifications Settings is prefs:root=NOTIFICATIONS_ID, but after you get there, you have to do all the turning on and off by hand.

2 Likes