Automator workflow to combine PDFs - how to control location of output?

I’ve been using this helpful workflow for almost four years to select multiple PDFs in the Finder and knit them together into one PDF document, but it has a flaw: the “Move Finder Items” action can only put the resulting file in a specific folder, “Financial Statements.”

What action would place the resulting file in the same place I started?

• If I remove “Move Finder Items” action and leave “Reveal Finder Items,” the file appears deep in the computer’s guts: private > var > folders > 4h > T …

• If I remove “Reveal Finder Items” so that the workflow consists of the “Combine PDF Pages” action, then I can’t find the file at all.

It’s still great using this – I generate 5-8 one-page PDFs from Google Drive, then use this workflow to merge the pages together into a financial report. But it would better if it would do its work where I want it to, in a year-month directory beneath “Financial Statements.”

Thanks!

If you are willing to use Hazel, this approach (as best I understand your question) should work. Run the Automator script that you have provided. Then let Hazel take over the job of placing the resulting file in the appropriate location.

Hazel monitors your folder that you call Financial Statements. When a new PDF appears in the folder (which is what your automator script does) Hazel springs into action. It is waiting for any PDF to get put into the folder Financial Statements.

Rename: It renames the file current date_FinancialReport.pdf. When I ran your automator script, the name of the created concatenated PDF was inscrutable so Hazel renames it 2018-09-14_114509_FinancialReport. The name of the file becomes: YYYY-MM-DD_HHMMSS_FinancialReport. My example makes the preface to the name detailed down to the second. If this is overkill, you can modify (edit) what Hazel presents as the current date. Below is a picture of that editor. I have included text down to the second.