[TIPS] How to use npm modules in Scriptable

Hi, all!
I’m pretty new to Scriptable (just about a few days), but I have some JS/Node background.
I’m going to share some tip and source code I wrote. It might be very helpful to someone like me, if not, oh well.

I wrote some code to use npm modules in a pretty much same manner that you use in NodeJS. I named it Scriptablify because it makes you to be able to use npm modules in Scriptable. Browserify is what makes npm modules useable in browser, so that’s the naming convention I guess.

There seems to be no way to make require() as a global function in Scriptable at the moment. So, any npm modules that uses require statements in a recursive manner, I can’t use them as-is. I would have to bundle every single modules I’d like to use or transform each files to replace require with importModule with some help from tools like browserify. Now that will be some tedious job to begin with and maintenance hell in the long run (not that I need to update those modules frequently).

Then I thought about wzrd.in which is a browserify-as-a-service as it describes itself. Here is what it basically does when you request a npm module via wzrd.in

1. Download and install the module
  2. Browserify the module as a standalone bundle (single file)
  3. Send the processed module back to the requestor
  4. Store the file in the cache for faster serving on the future requests

#1 and #2 is performed only on the very first request on that module at that version. Unless you request your own module or those ‘nobody knows it exists’ modules, you get your bundled module in a couple of seconds.

So, here is what my **Scriptablify** module does when you require('module/*@version, autoupdate*/') in Scriptable scripts:

1. Download the browserified module if needed.
    a. Check if module.js file exists in Scriptable/Documents folder.
    b. Check if autoupdate flag is on/off; boolean value as the second param to require() function.