Stream Deck Mobile - entry level offering and gateway to the multi-deck lifestyle

I’ve been using a Stream Deck XL for about 18 months using the stock Elgato Stream Deck application on macOS. One of main choices in configuring a Stream Deck is whether to switch profiles based on the foreground application, or to assign the “Switch Profile” action to a button to go between profiles manually. I’ve been manually switching profiles as it offers greater control, and a combination of automatic and manual profile switching on one Stream Deck was too much for my brain.

Elgato recently announced that Stream Deck Mobile - App Store now offers 6 buttons for free. Curious, I installed it and started mucking around. I found I could use my iPhone as a secondary Stream Deck that switches profiles based on foreground application - in addition to my physical Stream Deck keeping my existing manual profile switching. Within one day, I upgraded to Pro to get more than 6 buttons, and I’m currently rocking 6x4 buttons, although it can be configured with Mini (3x2), Classic (5x3), XL (8x4) and Custom (up to 8x8).

I think Stream Deck Mobile iOS - Elgato website could be a great entry level Stream Deck, or a way to play around with the idea of that second (or third, or…) Stream Deck for established users. Although it was $79.99 (Australian Dollars), it is much cheaper than the Stream Deck hardware ($379 for Stream Deck XL). This is also sure to slow a few imitators.

Reading back through the App Store reviews from 2-3 years ago, it seems this app had a rocky beginnings, but since the iOS app now requires macOS Stream Deck version 6.3 or later (current as of writing this), this feels like a new beginning. I’ve been using it without issue for 3 days, I’ll report back here if I have any issues.