Split text file into multiple smaller files

I have a massive text file with a lot of markdown headings that I would like to split into separate text files based on the # Heading. I have a Mac as well as an iPad and iPhone. I am looking for any suggestions on the best way to accomplish this. I am not good with coding/scripting, so if you have a suggestion using that I may need some really simplifies explanations. But I was hoping there was something using Keyboard Maestro, Hazel, or Shortcuts that could help me out.

1. How “massive” is the text file? Can you give a size in kb/mb/gb? Rough number of split out files you expect to have to generate.
  • You can get performance issues when dumping thousands of files into a single directory.
  1. Do you use only one level of heading? If not, do you want to split on say level 1 only, or all levels.
  2. If splitting on all levels, do you need a folder structure to split into?
  3. Are your headings unique?
    • This is an important consideration if you are using it as the basis of the file name.
  4. What would you want to name each new file?
    1, if the name is based on the heading, do any of your headings contain characters that are not valid in file names?
    • This may be an additional piece of processing to carry out.
  5. Is this a one off process, or something you wish to do regularly?
    • if it is a regular process, a solution on your Mac will likely run faster and be more efficient, whereas based on your background, a Shortcuts solution might be the easiest for you to understand if it is viable for Shortcuts to process the file.

Out of interest, what is the driver for now needing to split up the file? It may be that there are additional steps that could be carried out to prepare the files for their future use. E.g. setting up internal links between files for a PKM solution, auto importing into something, etc.

1 Like