Shortcuts help - send text reminder to all members of a group

Hi Automators!

I am embarrassed to confess that I am a Shortcuts newbie, and I’m not sure if this is the best solution. Posting in iOS since I can imagine a situation where I might want to send from my phone, but a Mac or web solution would be fine if it’s the most efficient.

My use case
I’m a volunteer coordinator for a non-profit group. We currently use Mailchimp to send emails to announce our schedule of upcoming events, request volunteers, etc. But of course, sometimes young-ish folks like me ignore our personal emails after we are done emailing all day at work, so I would like to send a text to our members when I send an email.

The dream scenario would be to automatically do this inside of Mailchimp or with an integrated service that would sync back to Mailchimps reports of who opened or didn’t open the email, but I can’t imagine how complex that is or if that is even possible. I have investigated some services like Textiful, and could use that, but all members would have to opt in, and it seems like overkill for a group of about 40 members. I have reached out to Mailchimp support, but realized a DIY solution might be just as good, and free!

Shortcut goals
Happy to try writing a shortcut myself, but nervous about doing it with many contacts. I’m hoping you can direct me to the start of a shortcut that might already exist that I can tweak.

Here is what I would like a shortcut to do.

• I can make a group in Contacts of all the members I would like to text. Some contacts have home or work numbers, so I would only want to text mobile numbers. I could create a group with just those with cell phone numbers, but it would be ideal to skip contacts without a cell number, so I could use the same group for emails if needed.
  • I would like to reference my iCloud contacts group in the shortcut and not have the human error of choosing 40 contacts each time.