Script to Create Shortened URL

As a preface, I have no experience with Applescript or any other language for that matter. However, I have a particular problem that many have, but I have yet to find a solution.

Problem: I need to automate a url shortener.

A little context will help though for the specific use case. What I am actually doing is shortening an “itemlink” from DEVONthink and transforming it into a web URL. The reason being, is that two pieces of software I use do not allow you to utilize item links as hyperlinks (Evernote and Notion.so). However, if I use TinyURL.com, I can put the itemlink in and get a recognizable web URL that Evernote and Notion will accept.

I am sure this is possible, but I don’t know how. Additionally, I thought it might be easiest in Shortcuts on iOS, but I can’t find a way to do that there either. The only iOS shortcuts I found don’t accept an item link either. Currently, I am doing this manually, but I might do this 15-100 times a day, depending on what I am doing.

Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Mark

I’m not familiar with itemlinks, however perhaps this Shortcut example will give you an idea on how to solve what you are trying to do

https://www.icloud.com/shortcuts/563111882b284ba9aca4ffa3e3d0dd80

It’s not clear to me where you are retrieving the item link and how you would ideally like to pass it into Shortcuts. If the former isn’t adequate, maybe you can elaborate on your flow. — jay

Does it have to be TinyURL? Would bit.ly be acceptable?

The reason I ask is that I believe Bitly has an API that you could use…

time passes

I just checked and it appears that Bitly’s API has gotten a lot more complicated since I last used it, so I don’t have example code to recommend.