Screenflow - 2 dumb editing questions

I’ve recently become a screenflow user and have been relying on online resources to get up speed, including this podcast (of course). I’ve got a few questions that should be posted on a screenflow forum, but I trust this community more than anything, so I thought I’d start here. If anyone can comment on any below, would be very appreciated!

1. As someone who started his career as a video editor, my default way to edit down a screencast is to mark an In point, mark an Out point and then Ripple Delete. But if I don’t like the result and I hit undo, both the In point and the Out point are erased and I have to find them again. Am I doing something wrong?
  2. Alternatively, I’ll just split the clips using the T command, delete what’s not needed, and then select the blank space and close all gaps. But if I have annotation clips further down the timeline, that track is not selected and so the annotations are all out of sync. Is there a work around?
  3. Relating to both above, this is usually when I’m editing something out of the audio track, and I’m often trying to make very precise edits. Are there any tricks to clean up a edit, frame by frame? In most video editing software, there’s usually a way to go in and get précise, but I suspect this isn’t part of Screenflow functionality.

I know this is a lot, on very specific software, but any help would be fantastic. Thanks again!
Rich

1 Like

To answer 1&2: I split, then ripple delete. It works pretty well for me and allows for easy cursor placement if I do need to undo!

Regarding 3: I use the arrow keys (left and right) to move slowly through a track. I do this while it’s not playing :slightly_smiling_face:

Good luck in your screenflow journey!

I never thought to use ripple delete for a selected clip, instead of just in and out points. What a great idea! Thanks!