Scheduling events for workdays

Hello! I am a professor and have made a shortcut breaks up my grading over the days that I have before I need to return something to students. So if I get a batch of 23 exams and I want them graded in the next week I can run a shortcut that will create a to-do in Things 3 over the next week that says to grade exams 1-3.

The problem is that right now it creates events for all of the days between now and my target date — including Saturdays and Sundays. I’m wondering if there is a way to do this and have it not count those days.

This is the shortcut I’m currently using: https://www.icloud.com/shortcuts/3fd9fa9ef07f44a49fb91bcad06ce4de

I figured out part of it. I can check whether the day is a Saturday or Sunday, but I’m not sure how to increment the index to skip over those days.

Here’s what I’ve got: https://www.icloud.com/shortcuts/2f46ebcc94f9426e81f98077283f4f6c

Hopefully someone else can help with the rest of it. And I’ll keep thinking.

You actually need to do it the other way around, go through the days between your start date and end date, count those which aren’t Saturday or Sunday, and then divide the number of exams by that count. Of I get a chance I’ll do it myself but that might not be for some time :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yeah, the problem is how to get an index to skip Saturdays and Sundays when it creates the tasks for Things. I’m wondering if I have to re-think how I’m doing the whole thing.

Working dates is something that I’ve seen come up a couple of times so I took a whirl at creating a drop in solution. I’m sure it’ll come up again, and having this available should make it a little easier/quicker to produce workable solutions.

Working Days