Run shortcut (from iOS personal automation) at most once daily?

Semi-noob here, sorry if this is a basic question! But I have a personal automation on iOS set to trigger a shortcut that runs my robot vacuum whenever I leave home.

However, I’m not sure how to handle the situation where I might be running a bunch of errands some day, and hence go in and out of home a lot. I really would only want it to run once on a day like that.

Ideally there would be some way to put a rule on the automation or the underlying shortcut that specifies that it can’t be run more than once a day, but I can’t find anywhere in the app to do that.

Alternatively, I guess I could edit the shortcut to put some kind of conditional before initiating the vacuum. But I’m not sure how to express “this shortcut hasn’t been run before” in a conditional. That doesn’t seem to be an option in the if action… and I don’t seem to see any kind of way to keep persistent state across runs to do things like set a variable if the shortcut has been run today.

Does anyone know if this is possible some way? Thanks!

(Edit: I suppose if I wanted to go completely nuts I could spin up a web server and use that to persist state/have the shortcut call up there to get the last run date before deciding whether to run the vacuum. But I gotta admit, this seems like extreme overkill. Though I guess if it’s the only option I’ll try it…)

You need to store some data to indicate when the automation was last triggered. You can then use the conditional check you wondered about.

There are several options for using persistent data, but using the Data Jar app is probably the most widely used approach and is easy to implement.

When the shortcut is triggered, it checks a persistent variable in Data Jar in which you can store the last run date. If the date is not today, update the variable and continue ith the automation. If the date is today, then don’t run the automation.

Hope that helps