Renaming files using the file name

Hi! I’ve tried to search for an answer, so if I missed a similar solution, please let me know.

In episode 8, the recommendation was to name files with date followed by description. Well, I’ve done the opposite and see the benefit in starting with the date.

So, my question is - If my file names are description-YYYY-MM-DD.ext, is there a way to use Hazel, Keyboard
Maestro (or something else) to batch rename these files to YYYY-MM-DD-description.ext?

I’ve tried this in both applications, but haven’t figured it out. I’m fairly new to both.

Thanks everyone!

Brian

1 Like

Hi Brian! I don’t use either of those applications (yet), but it seems like it would be pretty easy to have one of them do a simple regex matching on the file then, use the matches to rename it. For example:

If you’ve named all your files using the convention you mentioned (description of my file-YYYY-MM-DD.ext) and it’s always 4 digit year, hyphen, 2 digit month, hyphen, 2 digit day, dot extension then you could use something like this regular expression below. However, if you use hyphens between words in your description, then things change a bit. For now, I’m going to assume you don’t.

(.*)(\-)(\d{4}-\d{2}-\d{2})(\..*)

Now, I use group matching because I find it really easy to work with when excluding certain things. There are other regex savants out there that can probably write something more fitting for this scenario, but this is what I came up with and what I would probably do.

Let’s break it down by the groups (notated by the characters in parentheses):
File Name: description of my file-2018-10-15.ext

Group 1 (.*) We’ll call this the description match
This will match anything until it encounters the next group. So, in this case it finds everything before the first hyphen: “description of my file”

Group 2 (\-) This is a throw-away group and we won’t use it