Reconciling AppleScript with modern software practices?

My day job is software development with modern languages. I have been promising myself for years that I would learn AppleScript and now I finally have some time to do it. I have a couple of scripts that I am happy with and that work, so now I am wondering how to do Source Code Control with AppleScript.

Modern software projects are just a bunch of text files that typically coexist together in a certain directory. It is easy to use a Source Code Control tool like git to keep versions of the code and store it in a safe place like Github. You can experiment in your sandbox without fear of breaking a functioning system. The thing I canā€™t yet grok about AppleScript is how to do that.

AppleScript favors a binary format, which certainly can be stored in git, but you canā€™t do a diff between one version and another. AppleScript wants to sprawl all over my file system, in a multitude of places like

• ~/Library/Scripts
  • ~/Library/Script Libraries
  • ~/Library/Scripts/Folder Action Scripts

If I want to experiment with new additions to a script that resides in one of these standard places, I have to risk breaking an existing setup to keep these required locations.

Has anyone come up with a good workflow to handle these issues?

Have you considered activating Fast User Switching and setting up an additional user account (or several) for testing purposes?

You donā€™t need to use those locations - I rarely use them, mostly because I rarely use the script menus.

You can save scripts as .applescript instead or in addition to the compiled .scpt files. These are just text files which you can manage with git.

Does this work with Script Libraries? I am creating functions that I can reuse in other scripts such as

tell script "My Text Processor"
    changeCaseOfText("scripting is awesome!", "upper")
end tell