Project templates to Omnifocus and Calendar

I’m a fairly novice Automator who has a bad habit of trying to bite off more than I can chew. I’m hoping you guys could lend me a hand.

I am a scientist using templates to help me organize my experiments. I have a set of task paper templates I use and heavily customize to send to Omnifocus, relying on Rose’s great Drafts actions. Currently, everything goes into Omnifocus, but some actions really should be duplicated as calendar events so I can keep track of when my busy lab days are.

What I’m envisioning is taking my drafts template, customizing it as I need to, sending everything to Omnifocus, and parsing out events with a certain tag to create calendar events of those tasks.

Can I do this without teaching myself scripting? Drafts? Workflow/shortcuts? Help?

1 Like

Parsing out anything with a specific tag providing that word is unique would definitely work. Alternatively you could just choose the specific lines you want as calendar events. How would you want them represented in your calendar - as all day events?

I guess timed events would be the ideal.

A typical example is I have an experiment that starts with 5h task on day 0, has a 4h task on day 3, and two 2h tasks on day 7 that are 4h apart.

If I add durations and start times in the default template, I could always later adjust the calendar event as needed. My template asks for the start date and creates relative due dates based on that day. I can add a specific time for those, can’t I? Something like <> +2d 10a? I have to look up the syntax.

If there’s an estimated time and a due or a deferred time this would be doable - though I’m now thinking that it might be better to send the TaskPaper to OmniFocus and then share the OmniFocus project to Shortcuts/Workflow which means you get the great date parsing in OF (e.g. Thursday -2d), and then the ability to add these to your calendar… I’ll have a play and see what I can do!