Pass Dictionary to shortcut from Scriptable

I replied to a old post on this topic but it was kindly suggested that I start a new post to generate some views. I am relatively new to coding having just completed codeacademy’ s intro to JavaScript.

I have written a small script (see code from my post earlier today if interested but not necessary to answer this question) which returns a JavaScript object or dictionary. I would like to be to use the dictionary in a shortcut.

On a older post it was stated that this can only be done through pasteboard or call back URLs.
I dont know much about callback URLs but have heard that they have fallen out of favor but still have a place.

I am open to any solution and would rather not have to use x-callback url if a easy solution exists. Seems we should be able to simply return from our script.

I have made an attempt at code for x-callback url but I am confused about the base url to use. I think I have the concept of adding parameters. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

let baseurl = "scriptable:///run?scriptName=Multipick"
let cb = new CallbackURL(baseurl)
cb.addParameter("Date", a.Date);
cb.addParameter("Odometer", String(a.Odometer));
cb.addParameter("Trip", String(a.Trip));
cb.addParameter("Mileage", String(a.Mileage));
cb.addParameter("Final_Odometer", String(a.Final_Odometer));
console.log(cb)
cb.open() 

I’ve used the following to run a Shortcut from Scriptable with a parameter that gets picked up as the Shortcut’s input.

Safari.open("shortcuts://run-shortcut?name=Return%20Processor&input=text&text=Return%20Text")

I’m stilll unclear as to the bigger picture on this of what you are switching out of Shortcuts to do (that you can’t already do in Shortcuts). I can see you are doing something with car tracking, but only in terms of data being passed back. To that end I’ll cover various options with the help of some Scriptable scripts and a Shortcuts shortcut.

The Scriptable Scripts