Need advice on how to automate installation steps and recording them (marked asciinema as correct answer)

I am a web developer by occupation. I want to write how-tos on certain programming stuff on the macOS such as running certain commands in Terminal, etc.

because things change rapidly, i want to automate the how-tos so i can test them more quickly. I also want the steps to be recorded on video as well.

So i want to automate the how-tos and the recording using Loom (but i am open to use other software).

I am on macOS v12 (monterey) and am going through robotframework (a Python open source RPA) but i realized i still need osascript or applescript to help me as robotframework cannot directly talk to macOS.

A typical use case might be to activate terminal, type env wait 3 seconds then execute it thereby showing the output and then quitting terminal.

From there i have googled and discovered Sal Soghoian’s work. I have reached out to him over email and from his websites, i discover automators.fm so I joined.

My questions are:

1. narrowly speaking, for the above use case of opening terminal, type env command, wait 3 seconds, then execute it. then quit. WHat should I use to automate? Can it be something that works with robotframework?
  2. what can i use to record the steps happening in 1 as video and in an automated way? i.e., i run a script and that script will run through the steps in 1 and record them at the same time.
  3. generally speaking, what should i use? applescript, omni-automation, javascript, typescript? the choices boggle the mind.

Asciicinema might suit your needs?

1 Like

oh that’s very cool. never learned of that before. I suppose it doesn’t record anything outside the terminal.

what about question 3 in terms of general automation for the macOS ecosystem?

AppleScript generally has the most resources for automating the Mac.