My Fear of Scripting

I really enjoy reading @drdrang’s blog. In his last blog post:

What surprises me is when people who know Shortcuts or Keyboard Maestro—people who develop long workflows with branches and loops and regular expressions—balk at a little JavaScript or Python or AppleScript.

I understand that there are only so many hours in a day and whatever time you invest in learning the rudiments of a new language takes time away from other things you’d like to do—or need to do.

I’m not a programmer but I’m very curious about technology. I use Shortcuts very often, know some HTML/CSS and I have invested time in learning a bit of Pyhton - which I learned out of curiosity but never got much further away with because I didn’t know how to apply for my use cases.

I also wanted to learn javascript to create automation in drafts, scriptable, etc but all I could find were places teaching javascript in the context of website creation - which is not my intent.

One can argue that I could open Drafts and start testing with js… and trust me I’ve done that for specific use cases where I had to modify actions from others to suit my needs, but that learning curve is steep even for the basics.

In my case (and probably for many others), the main issue is not the time I have in a day, but the difficulty in finding where to invest the time (learning any of these do take time)

When I reserve 30 mins for Shortcuts (or Keyboard Maestro for that matter) not only do I create shortcuts (including if statements, regex and loops) and learn in the process but also I can immediately see the benefits of the invested time…and it can be universally applied.

Perhaps this is why many non-programmers step back from programming. It’s not the time invested, but the difficulty in choosing where to invest it.