Medication Log with NFCs

Hi everyone

I’m very new to the automation world and just now scratching the surface with NFC tags. Therefore I’m asking that you explain everything to me like I’m three years old. I have an iPhone.

I have a 3year old son that’s on a lot of medications (laxatives, growth hormone and more). Anywhere between 3-5 different medications a day all at different times. Some are scheduled, some are as needed. It can be upwards of 8 doses a day between all of those medications depending on his needs.

His pediatrician likes to have a detailed record of what he took. Since he’s been born, medication logging is something I’ve struggled with keeping documentation of because there’s so many.

I want to make a chart inside my medicine cabinet door that has an nfc tag Beside each medication name so that I can tap it and it automatically is logged. That way if his dad gives him the medication it’s also logged.

How do I do this? I need to get my sanity back and I’ve yet to find a simple way of tracking.

Bonus points if there’s a way to make a similar chart of nfc on a paper to track his bowel movements as the doctor also needs that documentation.

Thank you!

I’d be inclined to use a previously loved iPhone and set up an account for your son so you can have a dedicated Health app for him. You can then share the data withg appropriate people. It has reminders for medications and allows you to enter all of the details for medication management (frequency, dose, a visual on what it looks like, logging, etc.).

One thing I would love is if they would add a way to require you to take a picture. That could be handled through an automation, most likely. Whenever you get a notification for medication, have it request a picture then you can get all of the meds and snap a photo to go along with the log. Now you know which medications were grabbed and you don’t have to worry about “did I get that one, or not?”