Is it a good idea to learn JXA in 2022?

Hi just wanted to ask the community if it’s still a good idea to learn JXA for automation in macos? Is Apple still developing updates to this technology? Or is it going to die out soon?

I know that it is still being supported by the latest macos(Ventura). But how likely would it still be present in future OS versions?

PS: I’m a web developer and I’m more comfortable writing JavaScript. AppleScript can be quite confusing sometimes.

Cheers

Heck, it wasn’t a good idea to learn JXA the day it was released in 2014! It was crippled and buggy then, with lousy documentation and no official or community support worth a damn.

JXA hasn’t changed since, partly because the Mac Automation team were lazy and disinterested, mostly because Apple finally realized this for itself and disbanded their department in 2016, reassigning its developers to other teams and sacking the manager responsible.

The entire Apple event/Open Scripting Architecture/AppleScript stack has been mouldering in maintenance mode since (its only growing market nowadays is iin malware). A huge pity too because Apple event IPC, if a bit crusty, is legitimately awesome—vastly superior technology to anything Shortcuts or any other platforms offer. It’s just been murdered by Apple repeatedly shackling it to garbage and then leaving it to rot. (I actually fixed that problem 15 years ago, until the Mac Automation team wrecked it again. Still salty.)

FWIW, I doubt Apple will pull JXA before they pull AppleScript as well. They should have deprecated Automator, JXA, and other no-longer-wanteds in macOS 11 as part of their proactive slimming down of legacy scripting language support (Python, Ruby, etc) in their overall transition to Shortcuts, but they simply don’t care enough to be bothered. (Alas, the post-Jobs Apple cares little for quality/trash control.)