iPad MIDI Trigger for Keyboard Maestro

Hello Champs!

I’ve been working on a little somethin somethin that I thought I might share with the Automators Forum. Obviously, the show inspired me to start messing around with Keyboard Maestro, which I’ve been loving. Once I started getting some macros going, I wanted to make a simple set of physical labelled buttons I could jab at to launch them. So I did.

A little on my thought process here: I work as a writer and photographer, so, like everyone else, there are a bunch of very particular little tasks that I do to keep myself in some semblance of organisation. Doing post-processing after a shoot, there are a series of complicated layer actions in Capture One and Photoshop that are fiddly, irritating and need to be done every three minutes. I started scripting these, and assigning them to the buttons on my Wacom Tablet. This works nicely, but there’s really only three slots for them. So, I started investigating gaming triggers (like the OrbWeaver) but it’s just so extravagently ugly. What I really wanted was a straight-up assignable button array, like musicians use for Abelton etc. Some pals told me it was basically impossible to map MIDI to other schema - but KM is to the rescue!

Virtual MIDI triggers are a dime a dozen (well, a small pile of dimes) on the App Store so I tested a few to see whether I could find any that would let me a) make buttons with names and b) looked as close as possible to a big fat keyboard. After some experimenting, I’ve settled on SonicLogic, which is the least difficult to use and has the least offensive UI. You can size the buttons how you want, move them around by dragging, and make them pretty, pretty colours.

You can see what I’ve started making here: