In Hazel, is there a way to read another file except the one being processed?

My Google-fu is failing me so please help me out.

I wanted to rename files based on partial texts that I extract from the filename. These partial texts are used as keys on the .json file to provide the new name.

Example file

• file1_2020-01-08_some-other-info.pdf

I’m extracting file1 from that filename. This is a simplified example as the partial text may contain letter, numbers, underscores and dots. I have this covered via Javascript.

Now, I have a .json file with something like this:

{
  "file1" : "File One",
  "file2" : "File Two",
  "file3" : "File Three"
}

Now, I want to load the contents of this .json file so I can match file1 and get File One, preferably in Javascript. But any other option will do.

Any ideas?

I haven’t tested this (and I’m no expert!), but I think it should be possible to use the ‘Run Javascript’ action to do this (https://www.noodlesoft.com/manual/hazel/attributes-actions/using-applescript-or-javascript/).

You would need to add the custom token part of the file name you are extracting as an input attribute, then return the file name to Hazel (instructions for both of these are on the page above).

From there you could use the custom attribute exported by the script to rename the first file.

Thanks, I’ve already figured out the token extraction part.
What I wanted to do is based on the token – file1 – is to read another file that stores the descriptive value and use that value as a folder and move the file there.

Here’s what I wanted to achieve basically:

file1_2020-01-08_some-other-info.pdf  -->  /File One/file1_2020-01-08_some-other-info.pdf
file1_2020-01-09_more-other-info.pdf  -->  /File One/file1_2020-01-09_more-other-info.pdf 
file2_2020-01-08_some-other-info.pdf  -->  /File Two/file2_2020-01-08_some-other-info.pdf
otherfile_2020-01-09_more-other-info.pdf  -->  /Other/otherfile_2020-01-09_more-other-info.pdf