How to parse Carrot Weather data in Siri Shortcuts workflow?

Here’s what I would like to do. I would like to get the five-day forecast for a set location (it does not have to be a dynamic location) and then put it in a pre-determined text file in Dropbox. I could use the Dark Sky API, but since Carrot Weather now puts all that data into a Siri Shortcuts action, I would like to pull it from there.

However, I don’t know how to get just the data I want. Any suggestions?

I guess here’s where I admit I am a Shortcuts/Workflow noob. :slight_smile:

I don’t know. I don’t know. To me it seems that Carrot is pre-defining the output for us. There doesn’t seem to be a data dump of any kind that is parse-able.

I’ve added a few of the “in-app-shortcuts” inside of Carrot. They show up in my list of Siri Shortcuts, however they don’t have any output unless you have the switch “Show when run” flipped on then, it shows a Carrot formatted display.

I’d be interested to see if anyone else has a different perspective I’m not seeing here.

@DomBett as for your issue, I think you need to go into your Settings > Carrot > Siri & Search > and make sure it’s turned on. Let me know if that was it; it was a while ago I did this.

I think you’re right. (I did figure out my issue and I was being a noob, so thank you.)

in the latest podcast, David and Rose were talking about using Carrot instead of Dark Sky API for the sunrise/sunset calculations in Matt Cassinelli’s Golden Hour shortcut, but it appears that data is only available for the spoken Siri Shortcuts, not in Shortcut workflows. Bummer. I guess I really will have to learn how to parse the Dark Sky API in AppleScript or Ruby or something. :frowning:

Yeah, I heard that too but only after looking into the Carrot functions myself and thought Rose will be disappointed :wink: