How do I write code on my laptop in an IDE without it complaining?

I don’t have a fancy iPad with a fancy keyboard, and I can’t imagine being productive coding on my iPhone, so I’d like to write the bulk of my code on my laptop in an IDE such as PyCharm or Webstorm, VS Code, Atom, Vim, or anything really (but in that order of preference).

The only problem is is that it the IDE will complain quite a lot. I totally understand why it would complain about things that are purely Scriptable constructs, and for those I was wondering if there were some kind of stub or header file(s) I could use to teach my IDE the proper interfaces so he doesn’t complain.

But the part I don’t understand is when it complains about things that show up in my autocomplete. This is my first time using Javascript so I’m not sure what is and isn’t part of the standard library, for for example Request (Scriptable) and Request (Mozilla) have different signatures. The second one is what my IDE autocompletes to so I just thought that this was a standard function/class but now I’ve quickly found out it’s not. Scriptable wants me to assign headers to Request.headers but the other version wants me to pass them into the constructor. Could someone kindly explain why these are different? The Scriptable documentation says it is using “ECMAScript 6” and as far as I can tell the one on the Mozilla page is also ECMAScript 6.

Thanks in advance.

Greetings

2 Likes

So ECMAScript 6 is the JavaScript engine behind the app (in fact behind a lot of apps that use JavaScript on iOS). Implementations of the apps tie into it but in particular, Scriptable has a lot of stuff built on top so that it “bridges” into iOS. That ‘implementation’ aspect may be why there’s some variation on request.