Homebridge, aqara, Raspberry PI

Hi all,

I have managed to add all of my aqara stuff to the hubitat hub and I was able to install a plugin in homebridge and connect them. Realised that I need a sort of server to run them so I can use them. How hard is it to setup a raspberry Pi and install homebridge on that? Spoiler alert: I am NOT a programmer. Can it work on an iPad, like you do with pushcut and other iOS stuff or you need a computer to make it work (raspberry pi, synology…etc) @RosemaryOrchard any ideas?

Cheers,
J

Pretty easy - they have a prebuilt image on the Homebridge site home pge.

No. Again, the Homebridge home page tells you the supported operating systems.

2 Likes

Is it significantly more difficult to set up a Pi and then Homebridge?

(I know how easy it is to set up a Pi as I have 5 of them.) :slight_smile:

I’m just wondering whether it’s only a little more work that gains you more function / flexibility if you do it as a two-step. (I’m assuming, BTW, installing Homebridge on an existing Pi is easy - and I might just try it one day.)

The RPi installation instructions are linked from the same page, so you can easily compare.

But yes, it is much easier for someone with limited technical experience to install from image as then it takes care of the dependencies, install and base configuration; then providing a known and proven working baseline.

1 Like

Any suggestion on the rawpwberry pi? Seen so many versions in there.My main use for it would be for homebridge… At least for now:)

Thanks

On the homepage linked above, there is a link to install instructions which includes a link to versions of the RPi that the api will run on.

As a general principle, the newer the RPi…

• The faster it will be.
  • You will have more capacity to run more software services on it on the future.
  • The more future proof it will be as over time backwards compatibility had a tendency to fall.