Help Me Automate The Most Boring Part of My Job

Hey everyone!

I have a big ask. I’m a bit of a newbie when it comes to this sort of stuff, and have something I want to automate that I think will be pretty difficult to do. I’ll try to explain the problem first, and then the solution that I’m looking for. So here we are –

Problem: I am a freelance social media producer for a gaming media outlet called IGN. I work in the mornings, making social content for their Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram accounts. This will be anything from referral links to articles, to new movie trailers, to memes of my own creation. IGN has about 1.5 million followers on each platform, so the likes, retweets, and whatnot can get pretty high. But some things don’t track well for our audience, and we’re always trying to figure out what plays and what doesn’t.

To that end, they asked me to start keeping track of what my posts do numbers-wise. Right now I do this manually in a Google Sheets doc that I share with two of the full-time social producers. Doing it manually means each day going to yesterday’s posts, finding the first one I posted that day, and going backward on all three platforms, marking down how well they did.

Solution?: I’m hoping someone has an idea for this. The other wrinkle is that IGN uses Social Flow for any analytics, and it’s pretty minimal. I can’t get as granular as I need. Also, I would really love to keep using a Google Sheet for this process, as it makes things very shareable.

Let me know if you have any ideas, and definitely also let me know if you think this is an impossible, crazy task that I’m asking for. Cuz I think that’s very possible.

Anyway, thanks in advance.

Tyler