HELP: Copy contents of Saved Search to another drive

Hello, I’m totally new to automation and am trying to learn.
My first task I’d like to automate is copying all of my Final Cut Pro X Library files found on one drive to my boot drive. These small files that end in .fcpbundle are in several different places on my main video editing hard drive. To gather them, I created a saved search that looks on my drive for the file extension .fcpbundle.

Now that I have all the files gathered. I would like to automatically have the files in this saved search query be copied to a “FCPX Library Backups” folder which will live in the Movies folder of my Macintosh HD.

Ideally I would like this task to be run once a day around 5PM CST. As a bonus, if I could hit a button that launches this task that would be super helpful. I would be grateful for any help in creating this. My goal is to understand the task so I can start to automate more of the “file management” tasks I do in my video editing work.

Thanks!,

Ben

The saved search is useful for you to use, but in terms of automation there are command line options that do the same.

Take a look at Copy all files with a certain extension from all subdirectories.

For scheduling there are many options - How can I get a script to run every day on Mac OS X?. I mainly make use of at for ad hoc scheduling and actually use Keyboard Maestro to manage my regular schedule as I then have one place to look for my script based and non-script based scheduled automations.

Hope that helps.

Thanks for the resources. Admittedly, this is over my head, but I am reading it and giving it a shot. I did run the find command from the first link you provided and got terminal feedback: Permission Denied.

I will continue looking into this and see if I can make sense of it.

Ben

So when I use the following Terminal command:

find /Volumes/BENS_BCP_2 . -name *.fcpbundle -exec cp -R {} /Users/brodbb/Movies/BCP\ -\ FCPX\ Library\ Backups ;