Hazel rule to run any time files are added to a folder (or sub-folder)

I’m trying to set up a Hazel rule that will run a bit of AppleScript any time a new file is added to a specified folder (or any of its subfolders). I’m brand new to Hazel, and I’m struggling a bit to get this done. I’d greatly appreciate some guidance on how to get this working.

UPDATE:
Just wanted to provide a bit more details in case it is relevant. The folder I’m trying to monitor is my Calibre library. My goal is to have the AppleScript run any time a new book is added to the library. The AppleScript is set to run a Keyboard Maestro macro to sync my library to my BookFusion account.

Not at my Mac right now, but maybe copy the URL to trigger the Keyboard Maestro macro, then when you get a match in Hazel for any new file, have it open the URL.

The terminal command open followed by the URL should suffice.

However, this will run multiple times if you add multiple files, which seems like a waste. Have you considered having Keyboard Maestro check your folder periodically (it has built in scheduling), count the number of files, compare it to the previous number (you store it in a variable to reference between runs) and if different, run the sync then.

Hope that helps.

You could run it every 10 minutes or every hour for example.

I think I have the action side of things figured out. The part I’m struggling with is how to set up the Hazel rule so that it triggers any time a new ebook file is added to my Calibre library. Since the library is just a folder with subfolders for authors and books, I need Hazel to run the action whenever a new file is added to the subfolder for the book.

Okay, maybe this will help with what you want to do then.

First set up a rule like this to trigger other rules on sub folders. This is just the standard set up as described in the inbuilt Hazel help to process sub folders.