Getting Started with Automated Email notifications

Hi all,

I am just getting started with automation and had a question. I see there’re many possible resources available for automation which is very good.

I would like to be able to monitor incoming email and based on various criteria, send notifications (to Mac and/or ios) and or SMS text messages automatically with no user interaction.

In addition, I would like to be able to send an HTTP request to a Web server automatically, also with no user interaction when specific criteria is met.

• What email service provider do you use?
  • Do you have an always on Mac/PC or do you wish to use a web service for mail processing?
  • For SMS, are any other messaging protocols/platforms viable?
  • What sort of web sever requests are required? Unauthenticated GET, PUT with OAUTH, etc?

I am most curious about doing an HTTP request (POST would be best)

Hi - I am still most curious about doing an HTTP request (POST Request would be best)

Any help on this would be appreciated

Okay, but there are still some gaps that might offer some options in terms of triggering and monitoring. You only added one extra bit of information previously about web server access, and I’m inferring that it is unauthenticated as you didn’t specify otherwise.

For example, if you use Gmail that gives you lots of automatability via Google Scripts. If you have access to an SMS gateway from your cell provider, or use and intermediate service management service, that could give other options for monitoring your SMS inbox.

The complexity of the match might also dictate whether something like Integromat could check an e-mail sender as a match vs needing to code something in a Google Script, or on an always on Mac/PC to check and analyse the content of a mail looking for keywords or semantic weightings.