Filling out a standard template

Hello

I am a student teacher and currently on placement. Along with a lot of teaching, I have to do a mountain of paperwork that requires the use of badly made standard templates.

What I was hoping to do was to use a text editor like drafts to type out my lesson plans etc then export them into the templates that I can then send away.

I’ve seen that there are different tags that can be put into draft templates to insert the first paragraph or a whole draft into a template but I can’t seem to find a way to break up the document more.

I don’t have to use drafts it is just the text editor I use at the moment. I have a Mac also if it can’t be done on IOS.

Many thanks to anyone able to help out.

Can you share an example template, without content? Also is it a specific file format? E.g. a Word document, a PDF.

2 Likes

Of course. Thanks very much for having a look.

The end file doesn’t have to be in any specific file format. As long as it is printable from a windows PC. If it can be a word doc then thats a bonus but not a necessity.

If it just has to be printable then you could easily write in markdown and make a PDF. The trick will be to make sure you have the template in Drafts.

1 Like

How would I go about breaking the text in a Draft to fill out the different fields in the template?

The point would be not to use it to fill in an existing template, but to generate a fresh document that matches the layout you require.

Here’s some MultiMarkdown showing how a table would look when the Draft content is converted to HTML. You could trigger a custom Shortcut to convert that into a PDF as @RosemaryOrchard suggested.

Expand for Screenshots

… but the tabular layout in the template isn’t simple.

As such, perhaps converting to a more tailored HTML layout would be better?