Extracting photo Metadata into a spreadsheet

Can this be done in AppleScript? I am no programmer but tried anyway with Workflow, IFTTT and Automator with no luck. After listening to @Sal on Episode 3, I was impressed by AppleScript’s power.

I’ve taken almost 500 photos documenting a project’s work-in-progress over the past 6 weeks. I’d like to create a Numbers (or Excel) table by automatically extracting the metadata from each picture. This would allow me to document what work was done, when it was done and enable me to calculate time on project. Also, having one of the fields be a thumbnail would be a bonus though not required. The photos are in the Apples Photos app further filled in a project album.

Help would be appreciated or at least point me in the right direction so I can learn how to do this - the solution can be IOS or MacOS. I dread to think of the manual alternative.

Hi, Shelton,

I don’t know how to automate getting these pictures out of Photos (apart from grabbing them all and dragging them out of Photos), but once they are out and in a folder structure, please check out ExifTool at https://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/ to grab the metadata from pictures. I’d then dump the metadata into a csv file, which can then be opened by Excel or Numbers.

Good luck and post the script once it’s running.
Veit

1 Like

Since you asked about a thumbnail: Same approach, but use ImageMagick at https://www.imagemagick.org/script/command-line-tools.php to create thumbs for each image.

1 Like

Thank you for your input @veit. I’ll look into these in a couple of days when I’m back in the office.

Greetings. First things first. Photos on iOS has limitations on accessing or viewing the name of an image file, embedded caption data, or other metadata. It is really designed for consumers and not for automation.