Execute JavaScript from webpage

Hi,

I am relatively new to JavaScript, I usually code in Python and C++. I am trying to get a script of mine to run:

I want to load a webpage that has embedded JavaScript changing the page. I need to execute the script embedded on that page. And get the changed page. I can get the plain HTML with JavaScript source code, but not execute it yet.
I am quite new to this so I don’t know what to do.

Hans

When you view a web page it evaluates the scripts and renders the result. You’re currently retrieving the page info and then would need to do the same.

You might be able to parse the content and then evaluate the script and run it on the page, but if there’s any server interaction that would become significantly more complex and even as it stands it would probably be rather difficult and tied solely to that page so if it changed it would break the algorithm used.

I don’t know of a way Scriptable could effectively pose as a browser, internally render the page and return the resulting content in some format - definitely one @simonbs would be best placed to answer.

Would another option be if you were to view the page in a browser yourself and then pass selected content into Scriptable? I know Shortcuts can retrieve evaluated web page content from Safari via the share sheet, so at worst you could use that and then pass on the content to Scriptable for further processing.

Hope something in there is useful :man_shrugging:t2:

I’m not really sure what the best approach is here. I have it in my backlog to add support for evaluating l JavaScript on a web view but I’m not sure when I’ll get around to it.

I’m not sure what would work here but I think there’s two options worth exploring:

1. As @sylumer mentioned, Shortcuts supports evaluating JavaScript on a webpage. Maybe this can be used and then pass the result to Scriptable, depending on your use case.