Data storage with CSV, JSON, or something else?

Hello community and fellow enthusiasts,

I decided to start a personal project to challenge my novice Shortcuts skills. Briefly, I want to create a plaintext mini journal that parses and stores quick snippets of user provided text.

I have played around with both CSV and Data Jar as solutions to store plaintext values.

My intent is to build two shortcuts. One to accept user input and store data. The other will retrieve data and allow the user to read and filter their journal data.

My question to the group is, what storage method is optimal? I’m a novice when it comes to programming, and I know CSV and JSON (from Data Jar stores) have trade-offs. I’m not knowledgeable enough to know better.

I think this will be a fun project that will push my skills to their limit.

I’d love to hear anyone who has suggestions about the best method to store the data.

Many thanks!

What do you want to do with the information once you have it stored? Knowing the sorts of ways you want to process, manipulate and interrogate the data is a good starting point.

Also, do you want to access it in more than one place?

What would you want to be able to do in terms of backing up the data?

Do you plan to use plain text with or without any sort of markup formatting?

Do you want to keep an meta data outside the content?

Have you looked at any journalling apps?

Shortcuts sees JSON formatted text as a dictionary and has lots of support for quickly reading values from it.

There’s no first-party support for manipulating CSV files so you’d have to write your own with Shortcuts.

1 Like

Good questions all around.

My endgame is to keep a simple, lightweight text-based journal that I can search and filter results as needed.

I’ve tried the big name commercial options which are all great. I’m more looking to challenge myself.