CHALLENGE - I need a new document automation solution for Mac -- Replacement for HotDocs (Windows)

I need some high-level help. I have been a Mac user for a long time. Like @MacSparky, I am an attorney. I am also a recovering IT consultant/software developer/project manager and did that for 13 years before going to law school.

For about ten years, I have been using document automation software on Windows called HotDocs. I have created my own custom Word and PDF templates and a sophisticated design of the data needed to drive those templates. I have spent many man months on them over the years and they have served me well. But I really need a replacement. HotDocs is the main thing that is keeping me running Windows. Everything else I do is on the Mac.

I want to ditch HotDocs and Windows and go 100% Mac for my law firm. I donā€™t believe there is a single product that will do everything I need. Iā€™m hoping the community here can help point me in the right directionā€“help me figure out what products will work together to form a complete solution for my clients my staff, and me.

Here are the biggest issues I have with HotDocs:

• The software is Windows only
More if interested
  • The desktop version is long in the tooth

• Their web-based solution has been in development for years and is terribleā€“it doesnā€™t even have feature parity with the desktop version

• The software company has been purchased by a large company (Abacus) and they are jacking up the price a LOT (about 600%)

• The future of the product is uncertain - Abacus is pushing people to a virtual desktop solution, which I have no interest in. I have spoken with VPs at the company and my confidence in the future of HotDocs as a standalone, affordable product for small law firms has not improved.

Iā€™m looking for one or more products that can work together to replace what I do with HotDocs. Here are my thoughts/needs: