Batch print PDFs

Anyone have any tips for batch printing? Specifically, I’m a teacher and I’d like to use the staple feature of a printer at work to print each file (reports for graduating students) as a stapled set of pages.

I’ve tried configuring printer options and saving a preset (even setting as default with Option + Print) but dragging the files into the print queue window - which works fine with default settings - doesn’t use my preset or prompt for options. This feels like a bug and I plan to file a feedback.

I did begin to dive into configuring CUPS via localhost:631 but none of the options in that interface put the staple in the correct position! I haven’t tried with lpr but would expect the same issue.

For this round, I just did ~200 manually using the preset but I would be very interested in ideas to try next time!

Filed as FB13459461.

If your printer supports some stapling lpr option, you can use a shell script with the proper options set.

To see whether the printer supports stapling, type the following command in the terminal - it lists all printer options that are accessible through lpr:

lpoptions | tr \  \\n

(the | tr .... part makes the output easier to read).

If you see a stapling option there, you can use lpr in a shell script that would loop through all your files and print them.

A sample script for printing all the files in a folder (note: you’ll need to add a -o staple=true or the like, depends on your printer):

#! /bin/bash

cd /path/to/your/PDFfiles
for pdffile in *.pdf; do
        lpr -P MY_PRINTER  -o sides=two-sided-long-edge -o InputSlot=tray-3 "$pdffile";
done

(script taken from pdf - Batch print with printer preset in MacOS - Ask Different)

1 Like