Batch Convert PSD(s) to PNG(s)

Does anyone have a good workflow for converting a batch of PSD files to PNGs.

I really don’t want to open each file individually just to save it as a PNG. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I would use Imagemagick from the command line or a script (launched by any method you wish).

https://legacy.imagemagick.org/discourse-server/viewtopic.php?t=16550

1 Like

There are some useful free/dontationware Automator actions here, one of which is a great save for web image action.

You could then set up a Folder Action and drop files in the folder, or manually process them. Or if you have Hazel, automate it using that app.

@george_c, Hazel can process PSDs into PNG?

sips is already on your Mac. I have no experience using it with PSD files, but I do use it to batch convert other image files all the time. What I do is:

1. Copy all the files I want to convert to a new folder.
  2. In the new folder, change the extensions of all the files to whatever’s appropriate for the format they will be changed to. In your case, that would be png. You can do that in one step by selecting all the files and using the Rename command from the right-click menu.
  3. Open Terminal, cd to the new folder, and run sips -s format png *

Done.

2 Likes

You would need to first install those custom Automator actions I linked to, and then you can build/save an Automator Quick Action (or Automator Workflow) which can then be invoked using Hazel.

Here is a screenshot of a very simple Automator Quick Action built using that custom action:

In Hazel you would just set an action to run this Quick Action on the file matched in Hazel.

What I have done is set it up to look for a certain Finder tag (“toPNG” fo example). When I add that Finder tag to image file(s), Hazel will catch the tagged file, remove the tag, then run the PSD → PNG Automator action on the matched file.