Automation Possibilities with Alfred

I am new to the automation world, though I have long been exposed to the idea and methods of automation through @MacSparky’s podcasts. I am ready to start automating. Naturally, I am drawn to Alfred as an automation platform based on user reviews and personal research. I know it is not as powerful as TextExpander and Keyboard Maestro, but I don’t think I need that power just yet.

Dear Alfred users, I would like to know your insights on using Alfred for automation / text expansion. What are some the the things you use it for? Its strengths and weaknesses as an automation tool? Or anything else you’d like to share about it. :slight_smile:

I was recently informed that Alfred 4 is soon to be released and promises greater automation capabilities among other “improvements.” Any thoughts on this?

[P.S.—It is my hope the Automators community will benefit from this discussion. If it is redundant, please point me to another discussion where these things are tossed around, and I will happily move my questions there. Thank you.]

Although it’s now no longer maintained, packal.org is a great place to get inspired/find helpful workflows. Most of my personal uses of Alfred are as wrappers over apple scripts and shell scripts, particularly ones that don’t really need a terminal window to be open. A very helpful feature is setting your own fallback searches.

I’ve been using Alfred since before the 1.0 release. The most important thing to know is that Alfred works with a user-initiated paradigm - i.e. it acts in response to your command. It’s not made for scheduling automated tasks or to act when a device mounts, a folder is added to a folder, etc. – for that kind of stuff you’ll want Hazel.

Also - after moving all my text expansion from TE to Alfred, I realised that for my uses Alfred is much more powerful - see

https://www.alfredapp.com/help/workflows/triggers/snippet/snippet-triggers-with-dynamic-inputs/

and