Automating logging of wordcount in Pages?

I write using Pages. It’s central to my workflow, so other programs aren’t an option, at least not for writing. I’d like to start logging my qord count each day.

I could do this manually by getting the starting count in my document and then checking the end count at the end of the day, finding the difference, and putting it in a spreadsheet. But hey, maybe I can automate this. Imcould see:

1. Directly doing it with pages on ios. —> this seems doubtful. I know iwork added shortcuts, but I don’t think they’re extensive.
  2. Opening the pages file in another program or with shortcuts, and getting a word count. Do this in morning and evening and log the result
  3. Somehow do it on macos. I have no mac automation experience though

Any ideas? I’ve made shortcuts, but am not sure what can read .pages files and so am unsure where to start with this or if it’s even possible. Lwt me know if this seems more like a mac thing. Thanks!

With shortcuts, you can count the words of a document by converting it to PDF first but I’m not sure about how accurate the count is compared to Pages since I haven’t checked.

Shortcut Steps
Get File ['Show Document Picker'=On]
Make PDF
Count [Words]

If you’re comfortable enough with building shortcuts, you can adapt it to choose multiple files and sum up the word counts.

Oh perfect, that worked! Didn’t realize Shortcuts could process .pages files, that’s great.

Wordcount was off by about 2000. But, I did a test by adding five words, and both Pages and Shortcuts counted an increase of five. I’ll check manually the first few times, but this should be good for counting the change.

One hitch: I’ve been working in iCloud Drive in Pages. So the file is in the Pages app. Is shortcuts able to access this in the iCloud document picker, or do I have to switch the file’s location to “Shortcuts” or switch to Dropbox?