Automatically pulling PDF from webpage into DevonThink 3

Hello everyone, I have a problem that I could not solve so far. I have a subscription to a magazine that publishes every Friday. Subscribers can download the PDF Version once it is published. To get to the correct PDF I need the following variables:

• Year
  • Week of the year
  • my personal token

So the URL to get to the respective PDF would be as follows:

www.example.com/[year]/[week of the year]?token=[my personal token]

I would like to set everything up that every Saturday automatically the PDF gets saved into a group in DevonThink 3.

I have the following tools at hand:

• Keyboard Maestro
  • Shortcuts
  • DevonThink itself

Maybe anyone has an idea how to set this up…

Thanks!

Definitely possible.

First, though, does the magazine not provide an RSS feed for this? If so, it’d be the easiest option. (If it does provide RSS but truncates the content, there’s a good solution for that here.)

Aside: you may be interested in the PDF saving Shortcut I use, written up at the below link.

No, RSS is unfortunately not possible. That would have been too easy. :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks for the Shortcut though.

I hope there is another way.

Sure. I think I would create a Keyboard Maestro macro that runs weekly on Saturday, some time after the PDF is guaranteed to have been made available. DEVONthink’s Downloads Manager is scriptable, and getting it to download a file is very simple:

tell application id "DNtp"
	add download "https://example.com/_some-file.pdf"
	start downloads
end tell

So pseudocode for a KM macro would look something like:

Set variable theYear to %ICUDateTime%yyyy%
Set variable theWeekNumber to %ICUDateTime%w%
Set variable personalToken to [personal-token]
Run AppleScript With Specified Parameters
	add download "https://example.com/%Variable%theYear%/%Variable%theWeekNumber?token=%Variable%personalToken%"
	start downloads
end tell