Autogenerating PowerPoints based on Excel Sheets

Hi,

I’ve been looking into a solution for more easily generating PowerPoints based on an Excel-file. The current solution using Macros in Excel seems to me to be really inefficient and cumbersome (although I’m no expert on Excel Macros).

The typical scenario is that the Excel sheet contains a bunch of rows of data. Then the macro basically moves one row to another place, which is the data set for generating a series of graphs etc within the Excel, then takes the content and places it into a pre-defined PowerPoint. Once done, it goes to the next row of the Excel data copies it to the area the charts etc are based on, refreshes them and creates a new PowerPoint based on this - and so on until it’s done.

I don’t expect anyone to have a full solution in mind here, but would appreciate if someone had any experience with something similar and could point me in a direction of some setup to look into. Then I might come back with some more detailed questions. :slight_smile:

At a base level, from what is described, it sounds fine. If I understand correctly, you have a set of data that consists of multiple rows. Each row is sequentially used to generate a chart, and from that you are either producing a new PowerPoint file containing a single slide with the chart on it, or updating an existing PowerPoint with at least one new slide with the updated chart; the latter difference isn’t clear from the original description.

In terms of inefficiency and being cumbersome, I guess much of that will depend upon the size and complexity of the data & charts and the speed of the computer generating them. But the algorithm/approach itself seems reasonable to me for what’s been set-out.