Async function question

Beginner here.

The following function:

async function ATCall(url){
    let ATRequest = new Request(url)
    let ATResponse = await ATRequest.loadJSON()
    let response = ATResponse.records
    return response
}

returns an empty object. If I console.log(response) before the return, it does log the data, but this console log appears after the console.log(ATCall(aturl)) that calls the function logs an empty object {}.

So - I’m surmising that the return is being sent before the data arrives. Which I thought I was addressing with async/await.

This is a function I intend to use to call Airtable to retrieve records from two or more tables within a script. So I though it would be best to try to make the call from a function to which I could feed the url for the appropriate table. Just not sure why the return is occurring before the promise is fulfilled?

By the way - in an attempt to isolate the issue, I created a script that essentially only contains this function, my Airtable url and auth, and the console.log to call it. I wanted to see it work in isolation. There isn’t anything else in the script currently except comments.

Maybe you are missing the await to this function call?

console.log(await ATCall("some://url"))

If this is the case, the calling code doesn’t wait for the returned Promise to be fullfilled and logs the Promise object instead of the request response.

Thank you so much. That worked.

So to clarify, do I need the await on line 3 of the function also? Or is it more proper to put the await on the function call?

You need it on every function that returns a Promise and you want to wait until this Promise is fulfilled. Functions, defined with the async keyword and using await, implicitly return a promise too.

Thank you very much.

1 Like

In my further effort to pull data from Airtable, I ran into another confusing issue.

In the following code snippet, the “Manager List” portion runs fine.