Shortcuts Email Authentication Failing

I had to delete and reinstall the Shortcuts app on my iPad recently. Ever since, I’ve had a weird bug that prevents me from enabling my email account to the stock “send email action.” I’m getting a pop up that said authentication has failed. However, when I delete and try to reconnect my account in my phone, everything runs as normal and I’m able to sync the “send email” action to each of my accounts.

Anyone have any experience with this bug?

I’ve no experience with this error as far as I recall, but I have a few questions if that’s okay? Not all would be applicable in all circumstances, but hopefully it’ll help clarify what’s going on.

1. When does the error message pop up? When you add an email action, when the shortcut runs and tries to send the mail, etc.
  2. Can you share the exact wording of the error message?
  3. What accounts to you have listed in the settings here, and are the settings correct?
  4. Who is your email provider?
  5. Does your account use two factor authentication, or app specific passwords?
  6. Presumably you can still send emails directly from your iPad email app of choice … which is the stock Mail app?
  7. Have you tried reauthenticating at the OS level. E.g. Changing the password, or removing and reading your account.

Hopefully something above will give us the clue we need to take the next step towards resolving the issue.

1 Like

Thanks for your questions!

1. The error message pops up any time I try to authenticate any email address within the Shortcuts app, regardless of the service provider.
  2. The exact wording is “Authentication failed. The email address or password you entered was incorrect. If you have two factor authentication enabled, you need to create an app specific password.” The password is most assuredly correct, and I don’t have two factor enabled for this particular account.