Seeking a process/script/app or other tool for converting numbers with commas to text

Hi all,

First my situation: I’m an editor in the publishing world who uses Microsoft Word for Mac (always the latest version) as my primary text-editing tool, so any solution would have to take that into account or function as part of a workflow whose results would eventually end up there.

Okay, here’s my problem: I’m in need of a process/script/app or some other tool that will convert numbers with commas (e.g., 12,000, 48,000,000) to text (e.g., twelve thousand, forty-eight million).

I already have and use the BigCardText macro (https://wordribbon.tips.net/T007755_Converting_Numbers_to_Text), which is wonderful, and others like it exist, but I have yet to find one that works on numbers with commas, which is always true of the texts I edit. I would readily pay for a tool of any kind that does what I need.

As it is, if I come across a number like 87, I can hit a key combination, and the BigCardText macro changes the number to “eighty-seven.” Fantastic! But, if the number is, say, 87,000,000, I have to stop, highlight or delete the number, and type out “eighty-seven million.” This is unbearably tedious and ripe for automation.

Many thanks in advance,
Kerry

I"m not familiar with the macro you mentioned. Can it handle 87000000 (without the commas)? If the only issue is stripping the commas and passing to your macro, you could use regex. Keyboard Maestro, for example, can read the clipboard and remove everything that isn’t a digit (0-9):

Modifying the select and store sections like this should modify the selection to extend beyond the word breaks imposed by the commas, and strip them out with a simple replace.

' Select the full number in which the insertion point is located
Selection.MoveEndWhile Cset:="0123456789,.", Count:=wdForward
Selection.MoveStartWhile Cset:="0123456789,.", Count:=wdBackward

' Store the digits in a variable