On my way to work shortcut

Hello,

I’m looking for some help, I’m not good with this stuff but am having fun playing with it.

I made a short cut when going to work and it was working fine. But now I want to add it telling me the weather and also if possible when I get to work to automatically text a contact in my phone. I’m having trouble figuring this out.

This is what I have so far…

https://www.icloud.com/shortcuts/864fa8a978314cb4a1a41d4b386c9881

Thanks

Sure. You can use the Speak Text command (or Show Result if triggered by voice) to get Siri to speak the weather out loud to you.As for the location trigger, you can use Launch Center Pro or IFTTT for that.

But if I use LCP will it be part of the workflow or I have to do that separate?

Unfortunately, that will have to be separate. Shortcuts has no mechanism for auto executing but LCP does.

Thanks for the help. One more thing, do I need a variable in this work flow?

No problem!

As for needing a variable, that really depends on how you want it to end up working. From the looks of it though, all you need to add to the Shortcut is the Speak Text action/command.

For the automatic text message, LCP can’t execute a Shortcut on its own, but rather present you with the option to execute when the location trigger fires.

Someone else might be able to speak to that though. Or, that might be exactly what you want. Play around with it a bit and if you get stuck post it here and I/we’ll help you out however we can!

I added speak to text and it’s not working for the Esther but it’s fun playing with it.

1 Like

https://www.icloud.com/shortcuts/9803f06120c046c5aac458904a18a4d7

The reason the weather isn’t being read allowed by the speak action is that the Dark Sky Action isn’t passing it any weather details as text. The action passes any input it receives directly to the next step.