New user impressions

Now, I’m new to this app, and to javascript. I honestly don’t know where to start. I know shortcuts, I know some python, I regularly write bash scripts… but no javascript.

All the example scripts are fine, and I can read them, but could I make one? No.

The online javascript help stuff seems aimed at web, which is fine - but saying ‘ignore this bit’ isn’t that helpful if you already know nothing. You’re trying to take on new information whilst not being clear on the tweaks that don’t apply.

What this app really needs is a little handholding for the neophyte… taking them through ‘Hello World’ and moving on to show all the commands available - with a laser-like focus on the specifics of this app.

Just a tuppence.

2 Likes

Agreed. I have yet to find a really good walkthrough of Javascript for automation — not just Mac JXA, but also javascript as you’d want to use it in shortcuts, Drafts or elsewhere. I’m sure I’m not the only one who’d be willing to pay something for this

I dunno — seems a lot to ask from a free app apparently produced by one guy.

In my experience, the way to learn how to use something new, like Scriptable and JavaScript, is to start with something you want to do and then figure out how to do it with the new thing. Google is your friend here.

If you can program in Python or bash scripts, you can program in any (procedural) language if you’re willing to consult the language’s documentation.

Having something useful for you to accomplish is compelling motivation to put in the effort to learn.

I installed Scriptable a few days ago because
I got tired of manually noting the temperature and humidity before and after my workout bike ride so I could manually average them to memorialize in my Strava feed. A First World problem for sure, but my time is my own. Now I can just run a script in Scriptable and paste into Strava.

1 Like

It need not be the same guy…