Is there any way to emulate NisusWriterPro's type of double keyboard shortcuts with keyboard maestro or AppleScript?

I am using NisusWriterPro as an example. My question is not about NisusWriterPro.

I have been using keyboard maestro for more than 5 years, created many macros, and too many keyboard shortcuts to remember.

I just recently restarted (after a few years) using NisusWriterPro as a RTF editor in DevonThink, and greatly appreciate their keyboard shortcuts which are different from anything that I have seen, and most importantly easy to remember, as opposed to conventional shortcuts.

An example is best suited to explain what I mean:

Let’s say that I want to convert a sentence to a header.

In NisusWriterPro, as with all word processing apps, I can select from a wide variety of header styles. For example, in Scrivener I have to remember the keyboard shortcut corresponding to each header type/style. I other apps (Pages I think) I don’t even have that choice and have to mouse click.

In NisusWriterPro, if I type ⌘H → keep pressing on the ⌘ key → I can press any other key on the keyboard to choose the header style I want. All is configurable. For example if I type in a title → ⌘H keep pressing on the ⌘ key → press the R key, the title turns of centered bold red size 18 (as I configured it).

So my question is how do you call this type of shortcut and can it be emulated in keyboard maestro or AppleScript ?

Note that the default ⌘H global shortcut is inactivated which is fine.

thanks in advance for your time and help

Interesting challenge! The pseudocode would be:

Initial keyboard shortcut to activate the macro
Wait for keypress
If keypress is [x]
    do something
Else if keypress is [y]
    do something else
End if

I can think of two approaches:

• the KM action “Pause until [keystroke] is down” would sorta emulate the Wait for keypress and If keypress is [x] bits, but you can’t use any key for until [keystroke].