Help defining condition to find 'matching filenames

Hello Everyone,

this is my first time here and I hope I will not break any of the rules of the community.

What I would like to do is to make Hazel find file pairs with the same filename (although different extensions). If there is a file pair like this then move both files to a specific folder.

E.g.

Waterpolo.jpg
Waterpolo.epub

• these files have the same filename but different extensions. In my case, it will always be a pair of a .jpg and a .mobi or .epub file.

Many thanks for your help!

ps. If not in Hazel I could also try KM or any other software to achieve this.

Finding things is easy enough - you could use Spotlight to do it. But what do you want to do with the resulting files?

E.g. if you want to put Waterpolo.jpg and Waterpolo.epub into. folder together, you could use Hazel’s Sort into subfolder action to put them both into a folder called Waterpolo.

Many thanks for your reply.

For me, the first part i.e. finding two files that have matching filenames is the hard part. To be precise: the thing is that I don’t know beforehand what their name will be. The only thing I know is that there will be pairs of files with matching names. I hope I am describing the issue correctly.

So the rule I am looking for would be phrased like this:

1. Check if there are two files that have matching filenames.
  2. If so then move both files to to ‘File pairs’

Here’s a way to think about tackling it, and I’m sure it could be a little more efficient if you processed it based on the file being processed in Hazel, but I’m imagining the volumes are such that it won’t make any practical difference in the amount of time to process. So, this is presented on the basis that you run it each time a new file is added, and it will simply process the entire directory each time.